MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
Edison Hosts the Minnesota Supreme Court
Tuesday, May 12, 2015 9:20 AM

Edison was selected to host the MN Supreme Court Traveling Oral Argument on May 11, 2015 to hear an actual case, State of Minnesota vs. True Thao (Case No. A14-1182) in front of hundreds of students from Edison, South and North. Over the last 20 years, there have been only 40 other schools in the state of Minnesota who have hosted the Court.  Minneapolis Public Schools last hosted the Minnesota Supreme Court in 2006 at South High School.  This was a once in a lifetime opportunity for our students to learn more about the court system and we are honored to have been a part of the distinguished list of schools that have been selected for this event. Tune into WCCO for additional coverage of this event.
The morning started off with students having a light breakfast with the Justices. After the oral hearing, students along with other members in the audience had the opportunity to ask the Justices questions on topics such as their profession, opinions and interests.  Justice, Alan Page was honored by Michael Walker, Director, Office of Black Male Student Achievement the tremendous amount of support his scholarship program has given to our students. The afternoon ended with a lunch giving students and special guests an opportunity to meet one on one with the Justices. Two Justices, Alan Page and Christopher Dietzen visited an Edison social studies class for a question and answer session.    
Several distinguished guests were in attendance: Michael Goar, Interim Superintendent, MPS School Board Members, Jenny Arneson, Tracine Asberry, Kim Ellison, and Rebecca Gaggon, Michael Walker, Director, Office of Black Male Student Achievement, Honorable Peter A. Cahill, Chief Judge, Hennepin County, Colin Powell Leadership Academy JROTC, Kevin Reich, Ward 1 Mpls City Council Member, Alan Page, Justice and founder of the Page Education Foundation, Chief Justice Lorie Skjerven Gildea, Justice G. Barry Anderson, Justice Christopher J. Dietzen, Justice David R. Stras, Justice Wilhelmina M. Wright, and Justice David L. Lillehaug. Click here to learn more about the members of the court.
Several Edison and MPS District staff played a key role in organizing and helping out with this event:  

Edison High School
Social Studies Department: Michael Miller, Jacquelyn Belisle, Nicole Brinza, and Kyle Resler
Administrators: Principal Carla Steinbach, Assistant Principal Erin Rathke, and School Administrative Manager Jill Pohtilla
Staff: IB Coordinator/Theater Max Athorn, Media Specialist Donna VonLehe, Office Manager Lori Bosnic, Finance Clerk Vickie Anderson, Head Engineer Dale Thayer, SRO Dave Honican, and Sound/Stage Specialist Karl Reinhardt
MPS District staff: Assistant General Council Cedrick Frazier, Communications Specialist Richard Davis, Director of Safety and Security Jason Matlock, Safety and Security Specialist Kevin Klechker, College and Career Readiness Jody Schieffer,   Human Resources Consultant Jesse Winkler, and Volunteer Coordinator Kaylie Burns Gahagan


MN Supreme Court Hearing 5-11-15
does this fire?!