MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
Statewide Testing

Standards-Based Accountability Assessments
The Minnesota Comprehensive Assessments (MCA) and alternate assessment Minnesota Test of Academic Skills (MTAS) are the state tests that help districts measure student progress toward Minnesota’s academic standards and also meet federal and state legislative requirements. Students take one test in each subject. Most students take the MCA, but students who receive special education services and meet eligibility requirements may take the alternate assessment MTAS instead. 

The list below shows tests by subject and the grades they are given:

  • Reading: MCA or MTAS (grades 3-8, 10)
  • Mathematics: MCA or MTAS (grades 3-8, 11)
  • Science: MCA or MTAS (grades 5, 8, and once in high school) 

Student Participation in Statewide Assessments
Minnesota Statutes, section 120B.31, subdivision 4a, requires the Minnesota Department of Education (MDE) to publish a form for parents/guardians to complete if they refuse to have their student participate in state-required standardized assessments. It is important to note that students who choose to "opt out" from testing will be counted as "not proficient" when compiling Edison's MCA-based achievement levels.

Please click here for the Parent/Guardian Guide and Refusal for Student Participation in Statewide Testing (English)

For more information on statewide testing, visit the Minnesota Department of Education website

Click here for 2022-2023 Testing Calendar

does this fire?!